Schenck, Johann (1660 - after 1712), Sonatas I and II from „Tyd en Konst-Oeffeningen“, eba2129


Schenck, Johann (1660 - after 1712), Sonatas I and II from „Tyd en Konst-Oeffeningen“, eba2129

Product no.: 2129
13.90
Price incl. VAT, plus delivery


Sonata I and II from „Tyd en Konst-Oeffeningen“ for Viola da gamba and Basso continuo
________________________

Johannes Schenck (1660 – after 1710) is „[...] by far the most important Dutch composer for the viola da gamba of that time [...].“ Around 1700 he found himself in the good company of composers from cities such as Bruges, Brussels or Utrecht, who wrote solo pieces for the viola da gamba, they, however, did not achieve his fame and finesse.

Johannes Schenck was baptised on the 3rd of June 1660 in the Catholic Mozes en Aaron Kerk in Amsterdam. His parents originally came from Germany and before his birth they had moved into the trading centre. Therefore he grew up with the Dutch language and culture. Unfortunately until now the sources have shed no light on the musical education that Schenck received. In 1680 Schenck was still living in Amsterdam, when he married Geertuyd Hamel van Vianen. He was active there as a musician, composed and played in concerts, and enjoyed a universally big standing with the burghers and merchants. Many of his works were issued by the local printer Estienne Roger and dedications to– for example – the Mayor Nicolaas Witsen, showed the affection and patronage given to Johannes Schenck. Presumably it was also his good reputation and fame as a composer and musician that in 1696 brought him the position at the court of the Elector Johann Wilhelm II of the Pfalz in Düsseldorf. The Elector, married to Anna Maria Luisa von Medici, himself played the Viola da Gamba and thus it seems reasonable to suppose that he had already become acquainted with Schenck’s works in Amsterdam. During his time as gambist in the court in Düsseldorf Schenck’s body of works for the viola da gamba grew considerably. Here Schenck worked surrounded by musicians of an international reputation ie the lutenist Johann Sigismund Weiss or the librettist Steffani. In 1711 Händel himself came to Düsseldorf to win over the castrato Baldassari for his operas in London.. Besides Schenck’s activity as a musician he also held posts at the court.. „In the diary of the coronation of Karl the VIth in Frankfurt am Main on the 22nd December 1711 ‚Herr Cammer-Rath Schenk’ in the retinue of the Elector of the Pfalz was mentioned.“ After that several sources about his life have been lost.

Besides compositions for gamba Johannes Schenck also composed vocal music. In particular we can place an emphasis on the songs for the opera Bacchus, Ceres en Venus, which was published in 1687, since they comprise his first preserved compositions. Tyd en konst-oeffeningen, opus 2, is Schenck’s first instrumental work. It appeared from Roger in 1688 and is a collection of 15 Suites for viola da gamba and basso continuo. Besides Nicolaas Witsen, Schenck dedicated this work also to Jakob Boreel, a court official in Amsterdam, who was presumably also a patron of his. Three years later Roger published in Amsterdam, as he did with all of Schenck’s following works, l Gardino armonico, op. 3, a collection of 12 Sonatas for two violins, viola da gamba and continuo, which for a long time was considered to have been lost. However, a few years ago a Dutch musicologist succeeded in locating these sonatas once again in the Zelter-Archiv of the Berliner Sing-Akademie, after the archives had returned from Kiev. In Johannes Schenck’s compositional output there followed the Scherzi Musicali, opus 6, printed in 1698. These 101 single pieces are grouped by key into 14 Suites, which Schenck describes as being for viola da gamba und basso continuo ad libitum. It is the first work which he brought out after beginning his activity at the court in Düsseldorf. The Scherzi Musicali form one of the central works of the literature for solo gamba in the Netherlands. In 1702 Le Nymphe di Rheno appeared as opus 8. The picturesque title gave no clues that here Schenck was writing compositions in suite and sonata form for two gambas. The two voices are composed as fully equal solos. Schenck’s blended style, which had become consolidated through his previous compositions, came now to fruition. The dedicatee of this collection is his employer Johann Wilhlem II, also known as “Jan Wellem“ .

Whatever the motivation, Schenk’s suggested performance by two melodic bass instruments was an innovation in the Netherlands in as much as all earlier Dutch combinations had included at least one soprano instrument.

Johannes Schenck also gave a similar picturesque title, this time in French, to the collection L’echo du Danube, opus 9, which appeared in print in around 1704. In contrast to opus 8, these pieces were written mainly for solo gamba solo, many of them with basso continuo or also basso continuo ad libitum. The dedicatee is the Baron of Diamantenstein, the superintendent of court music and Kommissar of the estates around Neuburg on the Donau – in close connection with Jan Wellem. Schenck’s final work, Les fantaisies bisarres de la goutte, op. 10, must unfortunately be considered as lost..

The collection Tyd en konst-oeffeningen consists of 15 Sonatas for viola da gamba and basso continuo in two part-books. Schenck calls them sonatas, but up to four of them are dance suites with the usual sequence Allemande - Courante - Sarabande - Gigue. Several of them are introduced by a Prelude (or short pieces in various tempi) and some movements are completed by a variatio.

 

Customers who bought this product also bought

2165
22.90 € *
*
Prices incl. VAT, plus delivery

Browse these categories as well: Streichinstrumente, Viola da gamba

Schenck, Johann (1660 - nach 1712), Sonaten I und II aus „Tyd en Konst-Oeffeningen“, eba2129


Schenck, Johann (1660 - nach 1712), Sonaten I und II aus „Tyd en Konst-Oeffeningen“, eba2129

Artikel-Nr.: 2129
13,90


Sonaten I und II aus „Tyd en Konst-Oeffeningen“
für Viola da gamba und Basso continuo
_____________________________________

Johannes Schenck (1660 – nach 1710) ist „[...] by far the most important Dutch composer for the viola da gamba of that time [...].“ Um 1700 befindet er sich zwar in guter Gesellschaft von Komponisten aus Städten wie Brügge, Brüssel oder Utrecht, die Solowerke für Viola da Gamba schreiben, doch seine Bekanntheit und Finesse erreichen sie nicht.

Johannes Schenck wird am 3. Juni 1660 in der katholischen Mozes en Aaron Kerk im Amsterdam getauft. Seine Eltern stammen aus Deutschland und siedelten vor seiner Geburt in die Handelstadt über. So wächst er mit der holländischen Sprache und Kultur auf. Welche musikalische Ausbildung Johannes Schenck erhält, lassen die Quellen bisher leider im Dunkeln. Noch 1680 lebt Schenck in Amsterdam, als er Geertuyd Hamel van Vianen heiratet. Er ist dort als Musiker tätigt, komponiert und konzertiert, und genießt ein allgemein großes Ansehen bei den Bürgern und Kaufleuten. Viele seiner Werke erscheinen beim ortsansässigen Drucker Estienne Roger und zeigen durch Widmungen an – beispielsweise – den Bürgermeister Nicolaas Witsen, Johannes Schencks Verbundenheit und auch die Förderung, die ihm widerfährt. Vermutlich war es auch sein guter Ruf und seine Berühmtheit als Komponist und Musiker, die ihm 1696 die Anstellung am Hofe der Kurfürsten Johann Wilhelm II. von der Pfalz in Düsseldorf einbringen. Der Kurfürst, verheiratet mit Anna Maria Luisa von Medici, spielt selbst Gambe und so liegt die Vermutung nahe, dass er schon von Schencks Wirken in Amsterdam Kenntnis erhalten hatte. Während seiner Zeit als Gambist am Hofe in Düsseldorf wächst Schencks Korpus an Werken für Viola da Gamba zusehends. Hier arbeitet Schenck in einem Umfeld von internationaler Reputation mit Musikern wie dem Lautenisten Johann Sigismund Weiss oder dem Librettisten Steffani zusammen. Im Jahre 1711 kommt selbst Händel nach Düsseldorf, um den Kastraten Baldassari für seine Oper in London zu gewinnen. Neben Schencks Tätigkeiten als Musiker bekleidete er allerdings auch Ämter bei Hofe. „Im Diarium zur Krönung Karls VI. in Frankfurt am Main am 22. Dezember 1711 wird der ‚Herr Cammer-Rath Schenk’ im Gefolge des Kurfürsten von der Pfalz erwähnt.“ Danach verlieren sich weitere Quellen zu seinem Leben.

 

Neben Kompositionen für Gambe hat Johannes Schenck auch Vokalmusik komponiert. Besonders die Gesänge zur Oper Bacchus, Ceres en Venus, die 1687 veröffentlicht werden, sind hier hervorzuheben, weil sie seine erste erhaltene Komposition darstellen. Tyd en konst-oeffeningen, opus 2, ist Schencks erstes Instru­mentalwerk. Es erscheint 1688 bei Roger und ist ein Sammlung von 15 Suiten für Viola da Gamba und Basso Continuo. Schenck widmet dieses Werk neben Nicolaas Witsen auch Jakob Boreel, einem Amsterdamer Hofoffizier, der vermutlich auch ein Förderer Schencks ist. Drei Jahre später veröffentlich er bei Roger in Amsterdam, wie auch alle folgenden Werke, Il Gardino armonico, op. 3, eine Sammlung von 12 Sonaten für zwei Violinen, Viola da Gamba und Continuo, die lange Zeit als verschollen galt. Vor einigen Jahren war es jedoch einem niederländischen Musikwissenschaftler möglich, diese Sonaten im Zelter-Archiv der Berliner Sing-Akademie wieder aufzufinden, nachdem die Archivbestände aus Kiew zurückkehrten. Es folgen in Johannes Schencks Kompositionsschaffen die Scherzi Musicali, opus 6, gedruckt 1698. Diese 101 Einzelsätze verbinden sich durch gemeinsame Tonart zu 14 Suiten, die Schenck für Viola da Gamba und Basso Continuo ad Libitum schreibt. Es ist das erste Werk, welches er nach Beginn seiner Tätigkeit am Hofe in Düsseldorf herausgibt. Die Scherzi Musicali formieren eines der zentralen Werke der solistischen Gambenliteratur in den Niederlanden. Im Jahre 1702 erscheint Le Nymphe di Rheno, opus 8. Der malerische Titel gibt nicht preis, dass Schenck hier Kompositionen in Suiten- und Sonatenform für zwei Gamben schreibt. Die beiden Stimmen sind als gleichberechtigte Solopartien komponiert. Schencks vermischter Stil, der sich durch vorausgehende Kompositionen gefestigt hat, kommt nun voll zu tragen. Widmungsträger dieser Sammlung ist sein Dienstherr Johann Wilhlem II, auch „Jan Wellem“ genannt.

 

Whatever the motivation, Schenk’s suggested performance by two melodic bass instruments was an innovation in the Netherlands in as much as all earlier Dutch combinations had included at least one soprano instrument.

 

Einen ähnlich malerischen, nun französischen Titel gibt Johannes Schenck auch der Sammlung L’echo du Danube, opus 9, die um 1704 im Druck erscheint. Im Gegensatz zu opus 8, sind diese Stücke größtenteils für Sologambe geschrieben, manche mit Basso Continuo oder auch Basso Continuo ad Libitum. Widmungsträger ist der Baron von Diamantenstein, der Superintendent der Hofmusik und Kommissar der Ländereien um Neuburg an der Donau – in enger Verbindung mit Jan Wellem. Schencks letztes Werk, Les fantaisies bisarres de la goutte, op. 10, gelten leider bis auf den Basso Continuo weiterhin als verschollen.

 

Die Sammlung Tyd en konst-oeffeningen besteht aus 15 Sonaten für Viola da Gamba und Basso continuo in zwei Stimmbüchern. Schenck nennt sie Sonaten, aber bis auf vier sind es Tanzsuiten mit der üblichen Reihenfolge Allemande - Courante - Sarabande - Gigue. Einige werden angeführt von einem Prelude (oder kurzen Stücken in verschiedenen Tempi) und einige Sätze werden ergänzt mit einer Variatio.

 

Kunden, die dieses Produkt gekauft haben, haben auch diese Produkte gekauft


Auch diese Kategorien durchsuchen: Streichinstrumente, Viola da gamba